skip to main content

Elwood Honors Its Dedicated Board of Education

Elwood Honors Its Dedicated Board of Education thumbnail200193

In conjunction with School Board Recognition Week, the district honored its Board of Education during the Oct. 14 meeting, offering heartfelt accolades and gratitude for their hard work and dedication.

“The members of the board receive no compensation other than personal satisfaction in their efforts to try to give back to their community and guide our district in a way that they feel serves the needs and best interests of our students and community,” Superintendent Dr. Kenneth Bossert said. “I can say without question that this has been the compass that has guided the district through some very turbulent times. This board of education is a dedicated group of professionals who always have the best interests of students in mind and will advocate in that capacity to make certain that the level of instruction and other opportunities we provide to our students are second to none in our region, our county and our state. It is my pleasure to work with them, and for them, and it gives me great pleasure to recognize their efforts.”

Chosen in the Elwood building rotation to contribute to the recognition was John Glenn High School, which presented surprise gifts to President James Tomeo and members Thomas Scarola, Dr. Sara Siddiqui and Deborah Weiss (Vice President Heather Mammolito was unable to attend) as tokens of appreciation.

Art students made a large, colorful “Thank You, Elwood Board of Education” banner, adorned with leaves signed by each student; students in the food and nutrition class baked loaves of pumpkin bread; and technology students created large Lego-style figures in the likeness of each board member. Under the direction of teacher Rachel Nagle, the high school’s Acapelwood vocal group shared their musical talents by performing Brian Tate’s joyous “Connected” for the board.

“On behalf of the faculty, students and staff of John Glenn High School, we truly thank you for your volunteerism and your unrelenting support of the diverse and robust programs we offer,” Principal Carisa Burzynski said.

Also honored at that evening’s board meeting were seven outstanding students: National Merit Scholarship Program Commended Students Trinity Hausch, Isabella Ross and Maya Tallo; National Merit Scholarship Program Semifinalist and NYSSMA All-State Mixed Chorus selected student Anson Kwan; NYSSMA All-State Mixed Chorus alternates Toni Meyer and Kaitlyn Schieble; and NYSSMA All-State Symphony Orchestra selected student Aaram Lee. Kwan and Hausch were also announced as the Class of 2022 valedictorian and salutatorian, respectively. Lastly, retiring Elwood Middle School custodian Enrique Roman was recognized for his dozen dedicated years of service.