skip to main content

Community Shows Support at Elwood Education Endowment’s 5K Run

102816_main.jpg thumbnail67914
IMG_5721.jpg thumbnail67915
IMG_5722.jpg thumbnail67916
On Sunday, Oct. 16, members of the Elwood community gathered for Elwood Education Endowment's 13th Annual 5K Run/Walk for Education. Over 340 people participated in the event, including 148 Elwood students. Superintendent of Schools Dr. Kenneth Bossert, administrators and teachers came out to show their support. The proceeds from the race went towards the funding of the teacher grants that the EEE awards each year.

The sanctioned USFTA race took place on the roads surrounding the Elwood schools. Younger students participated in a Fun Run, while a DJ provided entertainment. Raffle prizes were also given out to lucky community members.

During the EEE 5K race, students were challenged to race against teachers Carla Weiss and Pat Burke.

The following eleven middle and high school students beat teacher Pat Burke and have been afforded bragging rights: Andrew Lule, Anthony Aromoto, Patrick Giambruno, Sean Murphy, Zak Siddiqui, Michael Browne, Benjamin Drucker, Michael Hermanns, Raymond Pepper, Jr., Sebastian Maran, and Daniel Mullan.

Sixteen James H. Boyd students beat Ms. Weiss: Matthew Pepper, Sebastian Garvey, Hunter Klinger-Cooley, Sean Faraci, Ryan Taylor, Nicholas Theologitis, Kai Sowa, Max Lainez-Miller, Connor Lennon, Domenick Lanzi, Cameron Rossi, Lauren LaMena, Peter Bell, Aidan Hanratty, Jack Smith, and Oliver Miller.

At the completion of the race, awards were given out in a variety of categories.

Thank you to all those who came out for the event and made it such a success!