During its June business meeting, the Board of Education and administration recognized 10 administrators, staff and faculty members retiring at the end of the 2015-16 school year.

District and building administrators afforded words of gratitude to the honorees and presented them with a plaque to acknowledge their retirement and years of service to the district. This year’s retiring staff and faculty members were Edward Belous, custodial worker; Deborah Brandsema, Harley Avenue paraprofessional; Patricia DiGiacomo, Harley Avenue paraprofessional; Elizabeth Hammell, middle school Spanish teacher; Janet Manniello, Harley Avenue special education teacher assistant; Jennifer Richards-Foley, payroll clerk; Pamela Schlachter, Harley Avenue paraprofessional; and Joseph Siry, custodial worker.

Among the retiring administrators were Dr. James Ruck, who served as the Elwood-John H. Glenn High School interim principal for the past two years, and Peter Scordo, who served as superintendent of schools for the last seven years.

After nine years of serving on the Elwood Board of Education, Board President Andrew L. Kaplan will retire from the board, effective June 30. Scordo as well as members of the board honored and thanked Kaplan for his dedicated years of service to the children of Elwood.